Election of the Kaiwhakahaere and
Deputy Kaiwhakahaere

A new Kaiwhakahaere and Deputy Kaiwhakahaere will be elected at the Te Rūnanga board hui on 23 November 2017.


The election of these positions takes place every three years. This is a requirement of the Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu Charter and is provided for and governed by the Charter and Appointment Policy.

This year’s elections will be held at the Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu November board hui, so that the new Te Rūnanga leadership is in place for Hui-ā-Iwi (24-26 November).

Papatipu Rūnanga will receive further information on the election process shortly, and will be invited to make nominations for these positions.

More information about the election of the Kaiwhakahaere and Deputy Kaiwhakahaere can be found in this policy or you are welcome to contact the Office of Te Rūnanga.

Form and function review

An important part of the election of the new Kaiwhakahaere and the Deputy Kaiwhakahaere is the form and function review, which will provide valuable insight for the election process.

It has been more than 20 years since the formation of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and it is timely for us to review, refine and enhance our current governance structures and processes to better support best practice and performance of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu for the next 20 years.

The review, unanimously supported by Te Rūnanga, was launched in April 2017 and through this process we are drawing on the collective knowledge from across Te Rūnanga, the previous reviews and recommendations, analysing best governance practice across comparable entities and seeking out relevant expert advice, to inform our decision making.

We will continue to update whānau on progress with this review, and will shortly give whānau an opportunity to have their say on how we support the aspirations of our Ngāi Tahu whānui over the years ahead.