Kaiwhakahaere appointed to Climate Change Commission

Ngāi Tahu Kaiwhakahaere Lisa Tumahai has been appointed Deputy Chair of the Climate Change Commission.

The appointment was announced today in Te Whanganui-a-Tara by the Minister for Climate Change, Hon James Shaw.

The independent commission has been established after the Climate Change Response (Zero Carbon) Amendment Act 2019 came into force last month. The Act provides a framework for reducing emissions by 2050 and achieving a climate resilient future. It also includes the commission’s establishment.

“I feel extremely privileged to be appointed to this role and I’d like to acknowledge the Minister for his confidence in me,” Tumahai says.

“I take this responsibility very seriously, particularly regarding advocating for Māori rights and interests. I will be working to engage key tangata whenua representatives to ensure te ao Māori perspective is woven into the Climate Change Commission’s mahi from the beginning.”

Minister Shaw says Tumahai brings to the commission significant expertise in both tikanga and economics as Kaiwhakahaere of Ngāi Tahu.

The commission’s kaupapa is to provide independent expert advice to the Government to ensure Aotearoa plays its part in solving the climate change challenge. It will monitor, advise and review the Government’s progress towards emissions reduction and adaptation goals.

It replaces the Interim Climate Change Committee, which has been in place since April 2018. Tumahai was deputy chair of the committee.

The Climate Change Commission is chaired by Dr Rod Carr, while Minister Shaw also announced the appointment of five other commissioners today: Dr Harry Clark, Dr Judith Lawrence, Catherine Leining, Prof James Renwick and Prof Nicola Shadbolt.