Ngāi Tahu welcomes appointment of ECan members

Environment Canterbury Board.

Environment Canterbury Board.

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu congratulates Elizabeth Cunningham (Ngāi Tahu – Koukourārata) and Iaean Cranwell (Ngāi Tahu – Wairewa) on their appointment as members of the Environment Canterbury Board.

As part of the Environment Canterbury (Transitional Governance Arrangements) Bill, Ngāi Tahu has two appointed members, who will join seven elected councillors and four other government-appointed members to create the new governance structure at Environment Canterbury.

Elizabeth Cunningham will be undertaking her second term as a member while Iaean will be in his first term.

Tā Mark Solomon says Elizabeth and Iaean have the full support of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu.

“Elizabeth is a highly experienced leader who will continue to advocate for our interests as a member,” says Tā Mark Solomon.

He says Elizabeth has experience in a number of leadership positions including on the Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu board, and through her work on Canterbury District Health Board and Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority National Earthquake Memorial Steering Group.

Tā Mark expects Iaean will provide a strong voice for Ngāi Tahu on the board.

“Iaean has significant experience in working on environmental issues, including as a former Chair of Mahaanui Kurataiao Ltd and as an Alternate for the Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu Board,” says Tā Mark.

We also congratulate the remaining government appointed members: David Bedford, Hon David Caygill CNZM, Thomas Lambie ONZM and Professor Peter Skelton CNZM.