Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura

Te Runanga o Kaikoura LogoTe Rūnanga o Kaikōura is one of 18 Papatipu Rūnanga as identified under Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu Act. Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura is the tribal council for the hapu of Ngāti Kuri. All those that can whakapapa to Kuri can affiliate to the Rūnanga.

Our boundary is from Te Parinuiowhiti (White Cliffs South of Blenheim) to the Hurunui River and South West of the Main Divide – this is the area of our authority. Anything that happens within this area, ie affects on land, air, water, any traditional or historical issues, Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura needs to be consulted.

Kaikōura Whakatau signed the Treaty of Waitangi with the Crown 29 March 1859. As his descendants we are charged with the responsibility of upholding that commitment as a Treaty partner.

The Office of Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura is situated at Takahanga Marae. The Rūnanga Office is responsible for the management of Rūnanga Policy and Directives while the Rūnanga itself is responsible for the governance of Rūnanga Policy and Direction. The Rūnanga meets every second Sunday of the month, February – November.


For more information about:


Rūnanga Office Contact Details:


Takahanga Marae
Representative: Rāwiri Manawatu
Postal address: PO Box 39
Kaikoura 7300
Phone: (03) 3196 523
Email: [email protected]