Our People


Te Rūnanga is made up of  18 Papatipu Rūnanga, which are located throughout Te Waipounamu (South Island). The Te Rūnanga Act stipulates that the Appointment Committee for each Rūnanga will appoint a member to act as its Te Rūnanga representative. The Rūnanga Appointment Committee will be elected in a democratic manner, by postal ballot, by the members of each Papatipu Rūnanga. Every Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu representative must be a member of Ngāi Tahu Whānui and be affiliated to the appointing Papatipu Rūnanga.